RSS

Dead Space 3 & Aliens: Colonial Marines

13 Feb

Completed both DS 3 and Aliens: CM over the holidays. Shall give a short review as I’m going out soon.

First up, DS3.  I’ll just address the impt questions going through those who are hesitant about buying this game, and then some.

Also, take note I ran through it on SINGLE PLAYER. Moving on,

Biggest question: IS THIS REALLY DEAD SPACE?

Have played both 1 and 2, read a few of the comics, and think of myself as a veteran of survival horror games (under my belts are some games like Resident Evil[the earlier, REAL survival horror ones], Siren, Fatal Frame series, etc.) . With this credentials, I guess it’s safe to say it’s a step down horror and a step up on action.

Fans who want to have the occasional ‘jump outta their skin’ experience and teeth biting shaky hands heart pumping feeling will be disappointed. The fear just isn’t there. Maybe it’s because I am used to playing the series, hence I know the formula:

oh see a switch there? a big room FULL OF VENTS? many explosives/freeze/emps canisters lying around?

better start reloading and preparing your health packs kid!

And I don’t quite remember this in part 1 and 2, but I noticed there are areas that are repetitive?? to the point where I don’t even know whether I’m actually going through the same place, just different doors, or I’m at an entire different area, with repetitive rooms!

It’s amusing more than annoying though.

but again, like I said, if you are looking for the scare factor like in 1(and maybe, 2) You will most probably be disappointed. The best this game can do at scaring you is the lame ol’ open the door and BAM! the necromorph’s literally kissing your face. and I seriously mean it, they don’t even attack you, It’s not scripted. They just appear and KISS YO FACE FO’!

Fans who enjoy a game where they can shoot shoot shoot kill kill kill kill! are in for a treat though. It’s really like the latest few resident evils, except not as drastic. The choice of weapons upgrades and attachment will keep you intrigued throughout, although I really question the effectiveness and sense of giving you scopes. srsly? in a game where the enemy runs at you like michael bolt on crack and you are most of the time in enclosed space?

Nope. A scope is useless. I can count with one hand how many times an enemy actually stood far far away while letting you snipe it.

Stasis attachment is the way to go, son. It’s like the seeker rilfe of dead space 3.

And also one very critical point why this game isn’t exactly survival horror – ammo are universal! yep. no more inventory space management. heck you can even MAKE ammo and health packs with spare parts. The only reason why you would want to throw things out is because hell the enemies are dropping stuff like it’s Christmas! lol

Although there is a game mode for hardcore gamers where enemies don’t drop stuff and you have to construct them yourself. There’s also game modes for classic(no mp, original pov, blueprints from first game etc.) and survival(where if you die, you RESTART the entire game) once you complete the game, all these will be unlocked.

Question no. 2: Multiplayer

I’ll keep this short, since i have no chance to play mp. *arhem* basically being the purist that I am, I was horrified when they first announced mp on dead space. WTF? srsly? How is it scary with another dude beside u?

But after playing this game and seeing it being an action game more than a survival horror, and how the story actually unfolds, I’m quite interested in the mp and actually think it’d be more fun. Since they take different paths most of the time, and I heard there’s a bit of story changes between SP and MP. and not to mention some optional missions and collectibles NEED you to play co-op(how cheap!) but that’s about it. Give it a go and you will understand what I mean.

Question no. 3: The Markers

This is really more of a personal thought than part of the review.

[MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD]

Why are the markers not explored further? it’s like somehow someone at EA said, hey let’s make it EVIL, no more ‘some people hear warnings, while others hear convergence!’. Let’s just focus on EarthGov’s way of thinking, that it can be used to provide limitless power.

I am not satisfied. I think it’s just a hasty attempt at closing something the higher ups at EA don’t agree with. It’s like,

“We don’t have time to focus on what the heck the marker does! let’s just go with the same ol’ ‘humans need resources but in doing so destroy themselves’ logic and focus on the ACTION! that’s what ALLL GAMERS WANT!” -.-

I’m disappointed really, there was so much potential and I really was intrigued with their true purpose. Although I must say, the developers did a good job in linking it up to this point.

I really hope a new chapter opens up that talks more about the TRUE origin of the markers and possibly even the discovery of the black one.

So to end it off, should you get it?

Well, I don’t see why not, just don’t expect it to be like the first. There’s really nothing memorable about this game once you complete it. Although, well EA doesn’t usually make bad games either. They screw up good games, yeah. But with their abilities they don’t make bad games themselves, if you know what I mean.

I believe a 7.5/10 is a justified score for Dead Space 3

Moving on,

Aliens: Colonial Marines

I am a BIG FAN of Aliens, having watch resurrection when I was 12 years old, alone, in the cinema. I’ve also watch the rest on TV, some on Laser Discs, other on DVDs. I am also a big fan of the Predator series. Although with that said, I am NOT a big fan of the AvP movie franchise. except for the arcade game(Which was what made me love them in the first place) and AvP: extinction on the PS2. I’ve also play AvP on the PC before, both the 90’s and the recent ‘remake’, and well… although not as good, I thoroughly enjoyed it as a fan.

Anyway, I’m running out of time, and truth be told this game really isn’t worth a long review. So let’s cut this short.

Rent it. Yep. Do not buy. Think Gearbox make good games? well news flash, single player campaign was outsourced

I didn’t even smell a HINT of Gearbox style in this game at first, and after reading that piece of article. I finally knew why.

and srsly speaking who the heck needs a good dev team to make a MULTIPLAYER game? lol

Story: Bottom feeder crap

Weapons: cool, limited but does its job well

HUD, POV: woahhh needs a bit of time to get used to

Enemies, environment, weapons, etc: yep, gives you the whole Aliens feel; dark, can’t see shit, scary. There’s even a few heart pounding scenes that reminded me of why dead space was lacking(I went straight to Aliens after completing DS) And yep, Aliens CAN mow you down easily if you are not paying attention, which is good. Not like most games nowadays where you just can’t die. sheesh.

Gfx: YUCK. wtf is this shit?!

MP: Did not try.

Alright gotta cut this review short. again, rent it. It’s short man, 5-6hrs? and although it does give you the whole Aliens feel, the rest falls short on delivering. Totally not worth the price.

Buy it only if you’re a true blue Aliens fan! woot woot!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
