RSS
Link
02 Dec

Echofon for Twitter 2.5.2 – Multiupload

So apparently echofon has discontinued its support for its twitter client on firefox, which of course, makes me a very very sad panda.

It’s quite difficult to find a good alternative, since the rest of the 3rd party twitter clients out there are basically choke full of useless features I don’t need. I mean, ppl who use echofon should know it’s selling pt is its simplicity, no?

So imagine my elation when I found mozilla has an archive for addons! even discontinued ones.

Firefox’s Echofon for Twitter builds – ftp.riken.go.jp

They have 2.5.2 as their latest one, I’m not too sure whether that’s the latest release, but 27th sept 2012 seems about right to me.

and for good measure, I’ve uploaded the xpi on Multiupload, Just holla in the comments section should the links be dead.

As long as twitter doesn’t screw up anything(or Mozilla, with its crazy among of totally unnecessary  updates) this should work.

Cheers!

UPDATE

Through a couple of comments over here, I found out that Twitter has discontinued its API 1.0, thus rendering the vanilla, discontinued Echofon for Firefox obsolete.. 😦

However thanks to Gio, who left a comment on my post with a link to a working(tested it myself) version, I’m glad to say that ECHOFON FOR FIREFOX IS NOT DEAD YET!!

Echofon for Firefox Ver. 6 FIXED

Echofon for Firefox Ver.6 FIXED – Mulit-Upload Mirror

*NOTE: If you are downloading from the 1st link, latest version is Ver.6 as of time of writing, ie. “echofon_for_twitter-2.5.2-fx-jahiy-6.xpi” for Ver. 6

**NOTE: Once you’ve downloaded and unzip the above-mentioned folder, you will have two files, Ver. 1 and Ver 6., I have no idea why 1 is in it but just install Ver. 6 and ignore Ver. 1

And for those who are unsure whether this is safe,  I managed to track down the original creator of the fix, and all his codes are published here,on github. granted I am no tech whiz but I don’t think you would share your codes to the public if you had any malicious intentions?

Still, he/she claims those codes on github are outdated so it’s really up to you to judge. I for one use twitter for recreational purposes so it’s not that impt to me. All I can say is the fix works for me with no problem whatsoever.

I’ll update though, should any thing pops up.

Big props to Gio, for the heads up, and of course the creator of the fix, jahiy!

Enjoy! And thanks guys for your comments! 😀

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2012 in Techie Notes

 

14 responses to “Echofon for Twitter 2.5.2 – Multiupload

  1. Mikael Bergström

    December 31, 2012 at 4:47 PM

    Great! I’ve been looking all over for this.

     
  2. Hyoko5

    January 26, 2013 at 7:45 AM

    Thx man!!!

     
  3. Jay

    January 31, 2013 at 5:58 AM

    Thanks so much for this! I was in a panic for the past 2 days after I reinstalled Firefox to find echofon gone.

     
  4. Suzan Jahani

    February 9, 2013 at 7:25 PM

    thank you Echofon for Twitter 2.5.2 works fine with firefox

     
  5. BoJaN

    March 15, 2013 at 8:48 AM

    Wow! Thank you so much. I’ve been missing tweets galore without my Echofon

     
  6. Chamy

    June 12, 2013 at 9:50 AM

    Hmm, sadly, it doesn’t work anymore…

     
  7. Devar

    June 12, 2013 at 10:58 AM

    Twitter has discontinued it’s API version 1.0. So echofon for firefox is now completely dead, unless someone hacks in support for the new twitter API.

     
  8. gio

    June 14, 2013 at 10:19 PM

     
  9. chamallowaddic7ed

    June 15, 2013 at 1:11 AM

    Gio, you’re my savior! Thank you so much!

     
  10. gio

    June 18, 2013 at 6:03 AM

    My pleasure.
    Apparently there is a version 7: http://tinyurl.com/ljkq3of. Working, tried myself.

     
  11. mail

    June 18, 2013 at 5:22 PM

    Searching for hashtags does no seem to work T_T

     
    • Khaos

      June 19, 2013 at 11:13 PM

      working fine for me here, abit tad slow though.

       
  12. Juliette

    June 20, 2013 at 2:28 AM

    Thanks bro u r great … from Mex and Tex

     
  13. gio

    March 1, 2015 at 8:38 PM

     

Leave a Reply

 
