RSS

RockMelt

15 Nov

Introducing Rockmelt! Ze Bastard child of Chrome and Facebook!

Rockmelt Introduction

Pretty cool browser, am using it now. I don’t know why though, I didn’t really like chrome before but rockmelt really makes me want to use it more than firefox, and I didn’t even download any extensions!  The features are as what it is stated in the video, and really, come to think of it the selling point ain’t really effective against people who are not really into the social media scene.

Though I gotta say it is rather convenient when you have all those fancy buttons just within reach.

With that said, There are a few quirks I’ve noticed and a few annoyances I cannot stand(mostly regarding chromium based browsers and not rockmelt specifically) which I’ll like to share, but since my memory is bad,  I shall name whatever that pops up in my mind now:

1. Search function

I could be really stupid here, but even though my default search engine was set to google.com.sg, it keeps directing me to google.com whenever I do a search and I can’t seem to force it to use .sg. Me? or the browser? inconclusive for now.. slightly annoying, still.

2. Search bar

Yes the pop up box is fancy, but is there an option for it to auto-close when you click on a search result? kinda annoying when 1/3 of the screen is covered up when ya trying to read the main page.

3. Processes in task manager

I understand chromium based browsers uses a process for every tab opened, but I only have 1 tab opened and there was already 6 instances of Rockmelt.exe in my task manager! Googled for abit and the best reply I got was “if one of chrome(.exe) crashes, at least you have 5 more!”(which lead me to believe Chrome itself also has this ‘function’.) seriously wtf? Overkill much? 

4. Downloads

Oh this is the one thing that I find so outrageous I thought Chrome(yeah this is chrome’s flaw) was released way before IE came about. I mean seriously, NO OPEN a download OPTION?!

STFUWTFBBQCHICKENIPPLESTROLOLOLOLOL!

It’s bloody annoying having files (like for eg. .torrent) saved to your desktop when all you needed was for it to be executed and be done with, not to mention I have to manually delete it off my desktop everytime I ‘finish using’ it.

And no auto clearing of downloads too! yes, it gets rid of the records but the physical files stays there still, so what’s the point? (I don’t need the record in the first place, either!)

Though It does seem like an extremely difficult (WARNING HIGH LEVELS OF SARCASM DETECTED PLEASE EVACUATE IMMEDIATELY) feature to implement, seeing as it’s more than a year, and yet nothing’s been done.

 

These are just some of the flaws I’ve noticed, and even though I may look like I’m bashing Rockmelt, it’s actually pretty cool browser and I’ll continue using it. I’m sure the ‘problems’ specific to Rockmelt can be solved easily, and since it’s still in the early stages, let’s not be too judgmental.

As for chrome, bah bullshitty browser! I’ll still choose FF over it anyday.

I’ll continue to use Rockmelt, and unless it can come up with better things apart from their convenient fb, rss feeds access etc., I have a feeling my interest will wane and I’ll go back to FF, especially when FF 4.0 comes out! But for now, I’m indulging in the innovativeness of this browser.

Last but not least, I HAS INVITES! So if ya interested, just go ahead and post a comment, together with ya fb nick, and I’ll hook ya up! Winking smile

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in Reviews, Techie Notes

 

7 responses to “RockMelt

  1. vyaas

    November 15, 2010 at 8:04 PM

    Send me a invite dreamboy_vyaas@yahoo.co.in

     
  2. Khaos

    November 16, 2010 at 11:29 AM

    right sent a friend request on fb. need ya to accept in order to give u the invite.

     
  3. jajajaded

    November 27, 2010 at 12:31 AM

    i use chrome! it’s not shitty!

     
    • Khaos

      November 28, 2010 at 2:34 AM

      hahahahaha! rockmelt is better. u should try it! let me know if you want an invite!

       
    • Khaos

      November 28, 2010 at 2:36 AM

      n why the heck do you link to your old blog? pls like log out and re-login again and update your blog address!

       
  4. rui

    December 7, 2010 at 4:55 AM

    can you invite me please ?

    my fb: facebook.com/ruizit0

    thanks

     
    • Khaos

      December 10, 2010 at 9:54 PM

      most definitely! invitation sent!

       

Leave a Reply

 
