RSS

Downgrade WLM2009

09 Jan

For me personally, I find alot of faults and stupid features in the “new” WLM2009 that made me detest it. coupled with the fact that I found out that it wasn’t even a FINAL, I decided to uninstall it.

BUT! because WLM is so goddamn stubborn it doesn’t want to leave my computer peacefully, conventional methods did not work(actually it was downright impossible)

Googling for a while did helped me though!

So then, If you want to uninstall WLM2009 and revert back to the LATEST(1302.1018 ) version of WLM8.5,

Method 1

Step 1. Zapmessenger

unzip and double click, wait and when it’s done close it.

Step 2.  MSI of 8.5.1302 from here (Thanks to Jonathan Kay)

double click, wait for the progress bar to fill completely(it will not prompt you or anything), log into your messenger, and viola!

Method 2

In the event that Zapmessenger does not work, google for ‘Windows Installer CleanUp Utility’, download, install and delete ANYTHING that has to do with WLM, and continue with step 2 above.

Do take note, the first method was tested and worked for me, while the 2nd one was not tested at all.

If all else fails, google is your best buddy! I myself have personally found a couple more methods before stumbling on these 2, which i feel is the least tedious, hence I’m sharing.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2009 in Hear ye

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Downgrade WLM2009

  1. janelle

    January 9, 2009 at 9:13 AM

    you changed back!?!

     
  2. Khaos

    January 9, 2009 at 3:53 PM

    yeppppppp lol

     

Leave a Reply

 
