RSS

Blogs that I hate.

04 Jul

Ok not really a list of the blogs that I hate, but rather some of the things bloggers put/do/make on their blogs that can almost immediately make me click on the ‘X’ button on the top right hand corner of my browser without even assessing the blogger’s writing style.

Do note though, this does not really apply if in the first place, you know the blogger well and/or has some sort of favoritism for him/her.

Here we go!

THIS IS RANKED! IN ORDER OF MOST IRRITATING TO LEAST IRRITATING.

1. Black background + White fonts = Pisses me off immensely. I get ghosting and my head spins after reading them for about 5 mins. I ABSOLUTELY ADHOR that!

2. Ads. The sight of ads seriously pisses me off whenever I visit a blog. My stand has always been this:

Blog because you FEEL like it, not because you THINK you should. Why plod a fucking factory right smack in the middle of a beautiful forest?? tsk tsk.

But let’s face it, ads on blogs are so common this days. I’d be glad if out of 10 blogs I visit, 2 doesn’t have something related to NN or whatever. So I’ve more or less toned down my analism on this issue. Nowadays, 5 ads is the most I can tahan, AND they must be neatly arranged and NOT obstructive.

As long as I see it without me searching for it, I’d deem it as obstructive.

3. Embedding music. man. darn irritating, especially when it’s in the middle of the night and you forgot to turn down the vol. of your speakers, than suddenly WWA WAA WAAAW WAAAWWAAWWA SATAN BAM BAM BAM HELLHELL BAMMM BAMMM 666 BONK!!! some heavy metal music starts to play. =.=

If there is a stop button for your ‘music player’, I will press it and CONTINUE to read your blog. If there isn’t any. HAHA then even if you write like Mr brown I will also click the ‘X’ button.

(I mean if you want to embed, at least turn auto-play off! very easy one what right or not? respect the readers and the readers will respect you!)

4. Fancy Fancy &darn boliao functions. For example: cannot highlight, copy and/or paste, stupid pop up box when I come and/or go, decorating my mouse pointer without my permission, ‘Snowing’ in your blog, etc. etc.

ALL I WANT IS TO READ WHAT YOU’VE TYPED! nuff said.

5. Many MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANY MANYYYYYYYYYY photos, Then 3 words only.

www.flickr.com nuff said.

6. Slow loading. I think this applies to all website i visit, not just blog. so yeah. ….I mean, You like slow loading MEH!?

7. Navigation. To go here, please click here, then click here and here and then here to go back to here and then if you want to go here click this one next to go here. click finish liao please click here. …How about I just click the X button?

8. This is somehow related to point number 7. Poor design. I mean oh my god. I have to search for 30seconds just to find the blardy main page link! (when i’m reading a permalink) THAT is seriously wtf.

9. Again, related to number 7 and this time, 8. NO main page link AT ALL. usually people will put their’s on the title of their blog. but some blogs I’ve encountered TOTALLY don’t have this function! So If I want to go back, I have to GO to the URL bar and input their blog’s url. how lame….

10. Scary looking people. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Oh come’on, I AM BUT A HUMAN!!

(ok ok, to be fair, if ya write well, I won’t kpkb so much, just.. try your best not to camwhore too much yeah? *feels like author is talking to himself… hmm)

 

Again, let me just emphasize the fact that I’m not very anal when it comes to my friend’s blog. slightly irritated, yeah. But I can live with it. (though it wouldn’t hurt if ya were to change!!! 😀 lol )

This post is just my thoughts on blogs THAT I HAVE NEVER EVER VISITED before.. and seriously speaking, I don’t think I’d ever go back should you fall under any or all of this points I’ve made so far.

Unless you belong to the latter half, (6-10) then I may or may not  continue to read just so I can see whether or not your writing is worth it for me to tahan.

Ultimately, it’s a blog right? Simple, easy. =D

 

PS: yeah yeah I noe I have my own cons. Not happy, just shoot. I will change, should I feel like it. Remember, I owe you nothing.

=D

Next topic shall be about ‘what kind of writing style/topics on your blog I hate the most’. hmm.. that one should be short lar.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

26 responses to “Blogs that I hate.

  1. Notey

    July 4, 2008 at 7:40 AM

    You better just stay at your own blog then. Complain so damn much. Who do you think you are to dictate what you like on others blog. Your blog looks so plain and just like piece of dead wood.

     
  2. Jonathan Kong

    July 4, 2008 at 8:03 AM

    While your blog title is misleading, there are points you made that I agreed upon. Especially the embedding of music. I think that’s fine, so long I see a stop button. Then again, that could not be enough as the music starts again when viewing a older page.

     
  3. vveijie

    July 4, 2008 at 9:12 AM

    hate is a STRONG word , man . :\

     
  4. uncle sha

    July 4, 2008 at 10:10 AM

    I heard there’s a new braille device that allows user to read blogs/internet

    maybe you can try that, the visual/sound part solved :p

     
  5. cLaUdIa

    July 4, 2008 at 10:48 AM

    Have to agree with some of your points! I’ve loooooong wanted to blog about similar topic too! But my list of to-blog-list just gets longer and longer! So ya… maybe I’ll try to move this topic up the priority list.

    I like blogs that are clean and neat and everything aligned properly. Makes reading easier.

    But hor, if really don’t like the blog, then don’t go back and read loh. Haha!

     
  6. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 11:19 AM

    @Notey –> lol. who are YOU to dictate that I ‘stay at my own blog’? and WHO ARE YOU to dictate that my blog is ‘plain and just like a piece of dead wood’?? hmm.. so are you in one or more of the categories I mentioned? You DO sound upset.

    @Jonathan Kong –> hmm… I do agree it’s abit tad misleading, come to think of it. Ok. Noted. Shall try not repeat it in the future.

    @vveijie –> hmm.. but I really do hate them?

    @uncle sha –> Great idea! Now.. if only I understand braille…

    @cLaUdIa –> yeah. as mentioned, I never go back. I mean.. there are SO many blogs out there, I gotta be real strict in my filtering ya know? Else is just NO TIME NO TIME!

     
  7. krisandro

    July 4, 2008 at 11:44 AM

    Aiya, chao just stated the blogs which he doesn’t like what. He is not claiming that his blog is better than those which he doesn’t like. For all you know. Maybe chao hates his own blog.

    WAHHAHAHAHAAA

     
  8. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 11:48 AM

    @kris –> Ah kris knows me best. WHEN ARE YOU CHANGING HOST!!! KA KIN TAN PO LEI!

     
  9. joshuaongys

    July 4, 2008 at 2:46 PM

    i agree on ur point where’re the sites have embedded music… its annoying..

     
  10. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 3:01 PM

    @joshuaongys –> ooo.. Visited your blog and I really liked the way you the photos are took. I mean.. I noe nuts about photography btw, but everything seems ‘just right!’ to me.

    Well then, keep up the good work dude! and thanks for visiting! 😀

     
  11. Rinko

    July 4, 2008 at 3:24 PM

    ahahaha then how about black background and pink fonts LOL what colour do u want then or just a white background and black words LOL

    its a girly theme in my blog so yeah excuse me then lol

     
  12. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 3:28 PM

    @Rinko –> ermmm.. black background with pink fonts are ok. I never say anything about those also whatttt. AS for white background and black fonts.. no comments.

     
  13. power ranger

    July 4, 2008 at 4:48 PM

    waaa den ur blog not boring ah? urs boring like shit. i agree with the bugger saying bored like dead wood. wahahahahahahahahaa. o_o

     
  14. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 4:56 PM

    @power ranger –> and which line in my whole post, did I say that my blog isn’t boring? and as a matter of fact, is one of the BEST in the whole blogosphere?

    Open your eyes bigger next time.

    and oh yeah, before I forgot, here, have a cookie. =D

    PS: calling the other person a ‘bugger’ ain’t very nice. but it’s your call. XD

     
  15. Daniel Tsou

    July 4, 2008 at 5:46 PM

    Maybe you should have renamed the post “Things to avoid in your blog design”, then people won’t misunderstand your post…

     
  16. beckgiggs7

    July 4, 2008 at 7:34 PM

    I agree with your points 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

    but now come to tink of it (1) also a bit sucky.

     
  17. yongwei

    July 4, 2008 at 8:30 PM

    phew….glad i’m not listed here.

    i don’t play loud music in my blog though its auto-play. more of melody for now, so is that ok?

     
  18. Yonghwee

    July 4, 2008 at 8:58 PM

    You make a few really good points. Embeddable music is terrible! Anyway, what do you guys think of having a shoutbox?

     
  19. paced

    July 4, 2008 at 9:43 PM

    1: Heng, pass…
    2: I got ads leh…
    3: pass…
    4: lagi pass…
    5: Erm, some of my posts also MANYMANY photos…
    6: Sometimes I think my blog load very slow leh…
    7, 8, 9: I pass or not huh?
    10: I don’t think I look scary leh…
    Heh… 😉

     
  20. Dingo

    July 4, 2008 at 10:36 PM

    @Danial Tsou –> Modify something just because of a person’s stupidity? Sorry I’m not THAT bendable. Though I’ll *try* to be more careful next time. Thanks for your input btw. =D

    @beckgiggs7 –> Why only like that? how about point 5?! KNS! YOU MUST AGREE WITH EVERYTHING I SAY! RAWRRRR! wahahahaha

    @yongwei –> Bro, I’m just stating my opinions. Ultimately, it is your blog. Do what you deem fit. You can’t cater to EVERY single readers out there. What’s the most important is that YOU, the writer/owner/admin, feels good reading it. =D

    @Yonghwee —> The Shoutbox, IMHO, is a nifty thing to have as it caters to people too lazy to use the comment box(or just boliao and want to let you noe they are here). Just make sure it’s well suited up to handle spambots. =D

    @paced —> lol. still go and analyze until like that. hmm actually, i forgot to add, I tend to cover one eye when the particular blog belongs to a babe. 😉 HAHAAHAHA!

     
  21. paced

    July 5, 2008 at 1:52 AM

    So I babe ah? HEHEHEHE!!! *blush*

     
  22. a_x

    July 5, 2008 at 2:11 AM

    lol. i thought you’ll have the examples of those blogs that you hate. heh.

     
  23. Payucash

    July 5, 2008 at 2:12 AM

    If de blogger ish pretty u wont mind nothing!

     
  24. Dingo

    July 5, 2008 at 2:22 AM

    @paced –> don’t make me say so obvious lei… I shy.. *blush You noe I noe can liew. 😉

    @a_x —> I still want to live longer. Thankyouverymuch.

    But do pardon me for the slightly misleading title, I’d refrain from doing so next time.

    @Payucash –> Not exactly, IF let’s say for example, you are chin pretty, BUT eu tyype rike dish, I will mind. 🙂

    PS: I’ve taken the liberty of removing your link. Sorry, NO commercial advertising here. if ya not happy, tell me and i will delete the whole thing. =D

     
  25. yve

    July 8, 2008 at 12:52 AM

    Share the same thoughts about point 2, 3. The rest I can still mian chiang accept. =D

     
  26. joshuaongys

    July 8, 2008 at 2:45 AM

    lolx most pictures are from my friends so yea.. all the credits to my frens hahaha =)

     

Leave a Reply

 
