RSS

Western digital or Seagate?

09 Apr

WD 3.5″ 7.2k 16mb cache selling 145 at pc themees

Seagate 3.5″ 7.2k 32mb cache selling 154 at fuwell.

both 500GB.

Whichy one??? I mean I would have gotten the WD since I have my doubts with things related(remotely, if you’d prefer) to maxtor(my previous maxtor one got rma-ed two times lo)

but then again, I’ve never really tried Seagate HDDs before… and i don’t really see anyone complaining about Seagate or whatever..

furthermore it’s 32mb lei. 9 more dollars nia. although the difference is nearly negligible, but its always good to have bigger numbers right? hahah

how how how?

tsk.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Western digital or Seagate?

  1. atl

    April 9, 2008 at 6:02 AM

    Previously, one of my WD120 died on me, got a rma sent from overseas but died on me again after a while. Before both died, there are always warning signs like failing SMART test and system event crosses so no data was lost. It really depends on luck perhaps.

    Now.. I still have three internal WD drives and having all of them under one brand is easier for me to use WD’s diagnostic tool to monitor the hdds’ health. I also have one external WD (working well) and one external ST but this one gives a lot of scary spinning noise.

    I am going to get a 1TB during the next show and I’ll still choose WD. Avoid Maxtor (u knew that) and Hitachi. If simply for storage –>WD, if for main C drive/Windows, then maybe –>ST *bigger numbers?*.

     
  2. dingo

    April 9, 2008 at 6:08 AM

    I was thinking of getting the 500GB, partition it, one for my os and program files, the other for storage…

    but I think at this point in time, 640GB is coming out soon? Perhaps I should wait awhile?

    Part of me says buy the 500GB now! (read my previous post to understand why)

    the other part says, WAIT!

    lol think i’ll give it more thought first..

    Anyways thanks for your input! appreciate it.

     
  3. Steven

    April 9, 2008 at 11:00 AM

    Well.. what about Samsung – far less cheaper than Seagate or WD or Maxtor. Warranty is 2 years less, but I think by 3 years, you’d change hdd anyway.

    Samsung support is also very good and near Sim Lim Square.

     
  4. dingo

    April 9, 2008 at 3:56 PM

    If I want to get Samsung, it would be the new spinpoint F1 series.. the performance review I read was great.

    But too bad currently Singapore only have the 750GB & 1T version.

     

Leave a Reply

 
