RSS

Winchester Mystery House

31 Mar

birdseye.jpg

I remembered long long ago, when I was young, I was a bookworm through and through, I was particularly fascinated with non-fiction such as science, biology, animals, the unknown, supernatural stuffs, and conspiracy theories.(i blame that for my pessimistic view of this world) though i did read up on some fiction too.

anyways, I first chanced upon this ‘Winchester Mystery house’ while reading one of those books by the BOOKWORM CLUB! rofl. i had tons of those books back then btw.

I don’t recall whether it was a book about legends and myths, or whether it was talking about facts, since i was small back then and didn’t really noticed.

Until just a couple hours back, I went to Google Sightseeing due to absolute boliaoness, and I saw them taking the above photo.

It was then that those memories came flooding back. and I was quite surprised to know that this house actually existed(as mentioned before, I wasn’t really sure, but i tot it didn’t existed for some reason). So being the usual me, i decided to go search around, managed to find a couple of interesting things to refresh my memories and add some too.

Wikipedia Entry

flickr devoted to WMH

a short description taken from the flickr link:

San Jose, California.
The Winchester Mystery House (San Jose) is a well-known California mansion that was under construction continuously for 36 years. It once was the personal residence of Sarah Winchester, the widow of gun magnate William Wirt Winchester. Under her direction, construction on the house continued 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year, until her death in 1922. The cost for such constant building has been estimated at about US $5.5 million. The mansion is renowned for its size and lack of a master building plan. According to popular belief, Sarah Winchester thought the house was haunted by the ghosts of individuals killed by Winchester rifles, and that only continuous construction would appease them.

and of cause, the bookworm club

hahahahah they are still alive! hoho

well nothing much. just utter boliaoness. kay sleeeeeep

PS: I do not get the point and purpose of tags, but I shall give it a go from now on and try and experience what benefits it brings, if I remember, that is… And what is up with all this ‘PS PS PS’ shit I’ve been typing lately?? gah.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 31, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
